Marine News from the Great Lakes

Classic & Wooden Boat Festival Winners Announced

Published: Monday, August 22, 2016

Rich and Nancy Kapellen of Sheboygan not only were the People’s Choice Award winner for the best sailboat but claimed Best of Show honors with their 17-foot Penobscot 17 at the Door County Maritime Museum Classic & Wooden Boat Festival Aug. 12 & 13 in Sturgeon Bay.

Other class winners in the People’s Choice voting were John and Sandi Seaman of Sheboygan for their 1895 16-foot Warren Cole Adirondack Guideboat “Long Lake” in the Non-Powered Craft class. It was the oldest boat in the show. Sturgeon Bay’s Russ Cihlar and his amphibious Amphicar “Surf & Turf” earned the Unique Craft award; Jim and Tina Jordan of Algoma with their 1969 16-foot Steury V-416 claimed Fiberglass class honors; Lew and Judy Juadis of Sturgeon Bay topped the Classic Outboard division with “Connie,” a 1957 18-foot Crusiers INC 502 Vacationer; and Roberta and Rich Hegy of East Troy, Wis., took the Classic Inboard division plaque with “The Glen L,” a 2015 19-foot Glen L Torpedo homebuilt. It is the only one in existence.

Another huge crowd toured the museum grounds as part of the Maritime on Madison festival on Sturgeon Bay’s Westside. Many stayed for Saturday afternoon’s Sikaflex Challenge boat-building competition’s in-water time trials. Brothers George & Neil Zachariesen successfully defended their title which was determined on a tie-breaker with the team of Brittany Hunt and Olivia MacDonald. Hunt and MacDonald claimed the trophy for the fastest build, needing only one hour and seven minutes to complete their vessel. Each of the 10 competing teams were given a limited amount of lumber and Sikaflex sealant to build a boat within four hours.

The Zachariesens finished third behind Hunt and MacDonald as well as the husband and wife team of Paul and Jan Smola in Friday’s building portion of the competition. But they moved up with the second fastest time in the sea trials. Bruce Loberg and Doug McGee had the fastest sea trials time on Saturday. By beating Hunt and MacDonald in the sea trials the Zachariesens earned the tie-breaker. The Smolas placed third and the Loberg and McGee team fourth in the final standings. Loberg and McGee were given the Best Overall Design trophy for their canoe.

Hunt and MacDonald were voted the People’s Choice winner for favorite theme in the Sikaflex Challenge and will have their names added to the Palmer Johnson Trophy.

tags: Antique & Classic Boats, Boat Show, Promotions & Giveaways


Go back | Show other stories